My annus horribilis

How I changed

Above you can see that my appearance has changed somewhat over the last year. The differences are subtle, but I think you can tell that I have aged somewhat. This is due to stress, a battered body and the building trade. My doctor was astonished at the transformation that has taken place.

I am not writing this to appeal for pity, but more to apologise to my readers that the second book in the Biform Solution trilogy is not yet out on Kindle. I feel guilty about this fact.

Here’s how the year went, as a brief chronology:

January and February were hectic and I had my usual period of depression over the Christmas and new year period…I put off typing, which I find depressing at the best of times.

March saw my birthday, which I celebrated by breaking my ribs whilst trying to demonstrate the ‘safe’ way to use the brake on my daughter’s scooter. Now then: I said that I was not asking for pity but try not to snigger, even if it is a bit amusing. Actually, I’ve changed my mind: go ahead and laugh! I’ve ridden 1000 cc bikes for years without serious mishaps and I break my ribs on a child’s scooter.

Laughing is something that I couldn’t do at the time. Nor could I manage to sit at the computer and type. the chair was just too unbearable.

In April and before I’d properly recovered, I started to hack the render off the house to cure the damp in the walls. Then I noticed dry rot. I ended up damaging the unhealed ribs again. I also fell and damaged one of the fingers on my left hand very badly.

I put off the manual labour until May and worked until I was tired out each day. This did not take much to achieve: my back was playing up again.

June: whilst doing the last of the work with a hammer and chisel, the back finally went completely. I’ve been bothered by it for a long time but this was the worst ever. I’m still feeling uncomfortable sitting to type this but up until now I could barely stand up.

To make matters worse, the builder who was supposed to repair the house and apply new render, pulled out of the job just after I bust my vertebrae. I have tried for months to get somebody else but without success. The buggers say they’ll come and don’t show up. I’ve been let down by dozens of them. I now face another winter in a cold, damp house.

None of this helped my depression. To be honest, I almost burned my writing because I felt so low. I got as close as setting fire to one page but couldn’t go through with it. I hope I never try anything that stupid again.

The nett result has been that I achieved little in the way of typing or editing and I am now way behind where I wanted to be.

War And Wisdom will be completed but I have a lot of work to do. I can only ask for your patience.

Believe me, it is as frustrating for me as it must be for you. I will endeavour to start editing now. Let’s just hope nothing else goes wrong.

P.S. That’s not really me in the photos: I’m sort of halfway between the two ages, with brown eyes and dreadlocks. You probably spotted the identity fraud.

About marcuscanon

I'm a bit eccentric, but honest and open. I live in a beautiful part of the world with my daughter, cat, guineapigs and a motorbike called Bella. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession, but now write books, sci-fi with my own personal (slightly deranged) twist. My passions are endless, like my curiosity. I love music, art, people, nature, pebbles...you get the picture. I detest intolerance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

