Run for your fall-out shelters!

DSCF0733Well…why aren’t you all scattering in panic? As you can see, I’m quite worried about what I am about to do: and with good reason.

Maybe I’ve misunderstood what the ‘Press This’ button is for. You see, I’ve been on WordPress for some time but never dared to succumb to that alluring invitation. No! I know what you’re up to, WordPress, you can’t fool me!

From my childhood I’ve read books and watched films where there was some anonymous but tempting button to press. Inevitably, some daft idiot would do just that and the consequences were almost always potentially disastrous: it took James Bond or some other super-hero to save the world after the clumsy oaf had pressed a big round red thing, just because it was there and looked tempting. WordPress may have attempted to be cunning by changing the shape of the button and not making it a vivid scarlet colour but it’s all the same.

In my eyes, left-clicking (my, how we’ve advanced since the days of Goldfinger!) this little rectangle could do anything at all. If you are reading this, that’s all well and good: it means that my suspicions were somewhat paranoid and that I haven’t launched an ICBM from North Korea and initiated World War III as a result.

Here we go then…may your God preserve you from what I am about to do.

Yours very apologetically for any mass genocide that may result from my actions,

Marcus Canon.

P.S. I am adding this after peering nervously out of my living room window for ages, having pressed the darned button. I have watched the night sky for quite some time now and have seen no suspicious vapour trails: nor have I witnessed any big mushroom clouds that are apparently bad news. Indeed, I have seen no effect from pressing the button whatsoever, which makes me wonder what all the fuss was about. I shall retire with a glass of wine and contemplate some Pink Floyd for a while. This will by no means resolve my dilemma concerning the ‘Press This’ button, but at least I won’t care about it any more. Goodnight!

About marcuscanon

I'm a bit eccentric, but honest and open. I live in a beautiful part of the world with my daughter, cat, guineapigs and a motorbike called Bella. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession, but now write books, sci-fi with my own personal (slightly deranged) twist. My passions are endless, like my curiosity. I love music, art, people, nature, pebbles...you get the picture. I detest intolerance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

