Decapitation: the facts

Wow!

Am I just wanting to boost my views with that title?

The answer to that is most emphatically “No!”, of course. Mind you, if loads of people read this for the right reasons, that’s all well and good. For those seeking cheap thrills, you’ll have to look elsewhere I’m afraid: that’s not what I do.

I’m trying to get the novel ‘Fire Triangle’ ready for publication and it’s taking some time. One part I was not happy with was the scene where a character is beheaded by one clean strike from a katana (samurai long sword).

When I write this stuff, I want it to be realistic. This is not to glorify violence but to tell it as it really is. If that takes people out of their comfort zone then so be it.

Anyway, last night I spent hours trying to find reliable information about decapitation. I wanted to know things like: how high would the blood squirt from the carotid arteries of a standing person? Just what is the truth relating to consciousness of the victim after the head is removed? How do the human torso and limbs behave in the immediate aftermath? How long will the heart continue to beat?

None of this sounds very pleasant: believe me, whilst I gained some clues as to the answers from clinical research, which was bearable, I had to go to some lengths to find it all. I even watched videos that I would not normally touch with a bargepole.

Afterwards, heading towards 1 a.m. I felt drained. I was sickened by some of the stuff that I had witnessed. Last night I could barely sleep.

At least I had my answers. This morning I have done some engineering calculations to validate some of the data. I still feel hollow inside. In the way I normally write to come to terms with life, I have decided to add a page which will relate my findings. That way, if any authors read this and need to write about decapitation or limbs being severed (which is similar in some respects), they can use my data without having to go through the revolting process that I endured last night.

Watch out for the page if you have such legitimate reasons to do so. If you are a bit ghoulish and hope to see real photos…they won’t be there!

Right, I’d better get back on with the gory details and then edit my book to reflect real life and the impact of such brutality on the witnesses to the killing.

Cheers, Marcus.

About marcuscanon

I'm a bit eccentric, but honest and open. I live in a beautiful part of the world with my daughter, cat, guineapigs and a motorbike called Bella. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession, but now write books, sci-fi with my own personal (slightly deranged) twist. My passions are endless, like my curiosity. I love music, art, people, nature, pebbles...you get the picture. I detest intolerance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

