Sci-fi eco warrior?

The phrase eco-warrior has been around for some time. By some people it has become synonymous with scruffy, dirty odd-balls who rove around interfering with the lives of perfectly decent people. That naturally begs the question, ‘Who is decent?’

Well, I have dreadlocks and wash only when I need to, not to mask my human scent with artificial chemicals that cost a lot of money and serve no real purpose other than to inflate the bank-balance of somebody I don’t know from Adam. I rely on the streetlight outside my house rather than turning the light on in my living room. Maybe I’m an eco-warrior but I just don’t know it? I certainly do not consider myself to be indecent. I judge people by the way they are towards me and others, not on their bank balance or anything else. I do not have a grudging admiration for protesters: I salute them (except where I think that they are misguided).

I would have to say that on balance, I would enjoy a conversation with one such dedicated environmental protester more than I would with anyone else. That settles it, then. I’m a wannabe eco-warrior but don’t quite know how to break free.

I don’t go on protests because I can’t, unless I throw away the sociological rule book completely. I have a daughter who needs education. That forces me to stay physically where I am. Mind you, I have my doubts as to the efficacy of the education system in the UK. My daughter might well be better educated if I were to do it myself. Of course, the problem there is that nobody would accept my tuition as being as good as the state’s, even if it’s better. I am therefore stuck with the guilt that I would be denying my daughter of her future prosperity…and that’s where they get us.

Nevertheless, I have become increasingly frustrated by the way that governing bodies suppress our right to individual expression, in so many indirect ways. I write about this in my books but I am beginning to feel that this is not enough.

Rightly or wrongly, I have come to the conclusion that enough is enough. I’m thoroughly pi**ed off with the way the world is run. It’s not right, so I’m going to bitch about it. My first direct protest is about a genocide that is rearing its ugly head in the UK.

See you later!

About marcuscanon

I'm a bit eccentric, but honest and open. I live in a beautiful part of the world with my daughter, cat, guineapigs and a motorbike called Bella. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession, but now write books, sci-fi with my own personal (slightly deranged) twist. My passions are endless, like my curiosity. I love music, art, people, nature, pebbles...you get the picture. I detest intolerance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

