Politicians…don’t you just love them?

The answer to this question is an emphatic ‘no’, more often than not: it could even be an incredulous look, if you actually ask the question in anything but a voice heavily dripping with sarcasm.

Of course, some people would reply positively, although it would be fair to say that most of these people would actually be politicians. Most of the people I meet view politics a bit like rabies. It’s something that is in the world that we don’t like but we can’t do much about it.

I love watching a quiz show in the UK called pointless. In it questions are asked that have each been answered by 100 people who are given a limited time to respond. The contestants have to provide an answer that is given by the least of the hundred to get to the next round. It is easy to see how much we in Britain think of our politicians by watching the programme. While 90% of those questioned can name the stars of a soap opera, only a handful of people may know who our MPs are.

Recently, a set of anagrams were shown to the contestants, each of which was a famous UK landmark. I chuckled for a long time at ‘loonies far up Thames’, which turned out to be ‘Houses of Parliament’!

At least I felt better this week when I saw just what a farce the USA had made of their budget, bringing vast swathes of the country to a standstill because the loonies in charge there couldn’t agree on anything.  Then again, an anagram for political sense is ‘Capitol’s senile’, so what did we expect?

I’ve always thought that the desire to be a politician should automatically bar a person from ever becoming one.

About marcuscanon

I'm a bit eccentric, but honest and open. I live in a beautiful part of the world with my daughter, cat, guineapigs and a motorbike called Bella. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession, but now write books, sci-fi with my own personal (slightly deranged) twist. My passions are endless, like my curiosity. I love music, art, people, nature, pebbles...you get the picture. I detest intolerance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

