Electronic Lunatics

The word lunatic derives from the Latin word Luna, meaning moon. It refers to insanity thought to alter with the phases of the moon. Insane, (sic), though it may sound, I have personally observed people whose unconventional behaviour does indeed appear to oscillate at this frequency. It is typically exhibited in the form of speaking to themselves, even holding private yet audible two-way debates, vehemently arguing aloud with themselves.

I would be unhappy were I to be described by others as a lunatic, yet here I am, writing the electronic equivalent of a debate, visible to millions, with no assurance that anyone is actually reading my words. Is this not madness? Yet, we do this all the time now. Facebook, Twitter and blogs are accepted forms of social media. All of these forms of social interaction can be likened to wandering the streets, yelling out our views to anyone who cares to listen.

On the one hand, should I do this in my home town, I would probably be arrested and considered to be a candidate for residence in a secure mental institution. On the other hand, my lunacy is accepted when it is done on-line.

Are we all psychologically deranged? Whatever happened to actually talking to other people, instead of texting, posting and the like?

About marcuscanon

I'm a bit eccentric, but honest and open. I live in a beautiful part of the world with my daughter, cat, guineapigs and a motorbike called Bella. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession, but now write books, sci-fi with my own personal (slightly deranged) twist. My passions are endless, like my curiosity. I love music, art, people, nature, pebbles...you get the picture. I detest intolerance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

