Sci-fi writer wanting company!

I think the lads and lasses in the photo have more idea about websites and the like than I do, but I’ve had a go at sorting the blog out, so I’d best start using it to let you know why I’m here. to be honest (what else can I be?) I’m trying to get my writing career going, especially since I’ve just published one of my novels on Kindle.

More than that, though, I wanted to share the fun and the agony of writing. I also wanted to know what people thought about books, the publishing industry, in fact anything to do with the craft of writing. I’m particularly interested in sci-fi, but then I would be, since that and science-fantasy is what I like to write.

Maybe I’ll throw a couple of ideas out and see what you think. the first one that springs to mind is how much should an E-book cost?

Before publishing my E-book, I agonised over the price I should charge. In the end I settled on a price of £5 or $8 US, for a 150,000 word novel. Too high? I honestly don’t know. What do people think is fair? In this country that money gets you about forty miles in a car, or a couple of pints of beer.

I’d like your thoughts on this or any other aspect of books, especially sci-fi.

Anyway, here’s a nice photo of some baboons. The pair at the top of the rock look deep in thought. Perhaps they were wondering about the very same thing.

Cheers!

2011_05100041.jpg

About marcuscanon

I'm a bit eccentric, but honest and open. I live in a beautiful part of the world with my daughter, cat, guineapigs and a motorbike called Bella. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession, but now write books, sci-fi with my own personal (slightly deranged) twist. My passions are endless, like my curiosity. I love music, art, people, nature, pebbles...you get the picture. I detest intolerance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

